Ahhhh, Magnesium. How do I love thee? Let me count the ways!

About two years ago, I became a “frequent flier” at our local emergency room. I’m sure I looked like a drug seeker because I would always show up with abdominal pain, they would do tests, and then tell me there was nothing wrong with me other than my colon wasn’t completely empty – that’s a nice way of saying, well, you know. I would leave absolutely frustrated, afraid that “they” had missed something, afraid for a while that I had colon cancer because all the symptoms lined up (I sometimes Google too much for my own good), but still, in pain and with a new round of prescriptions that did nothing to help.

ER

The only thing positive that came from any of those trips to the ER was one nurse telling me about magnesium citrate, which is the stuff you drink before surgery or a colonoscopy to clean out because laxatives and over-the-counter cleanse products did absolutely nothing for me. It was like my colon just went out of business. And the magnesium citrate did work, but it’s no picnic.

So when my husband suggested that I try Plexus BioCleanse, my response was “Yeah, right. Like some MLM product is going to help me. I need surgery.” But he ordered it, and I took it, and within the week, my colon was back in business! I was functioning normally! Not MY normal, but what anyone else would consider normal. To say that was a miracle would be an understatement.

So I did what I always do … I studied. I needed to understand. I knew that my colon issues were particularly bad because I have what’s called intestinal malrotation, which means that what’s on the left in your body is on the right in mine, and vice versa. I found this out when I had lower right abdominal pain several years ago, and we were all surprised to find that my appendix isn’t even on the right side … it’s on the left. Weird, huh. I also had colon polyps removed in my 30s. So I’m kind of on the “I’m a mess” end of the spectrum, and if BioCleanse works for me, I feel quite confident that it will work for pretty much anyone.

Back to my studying, though … I already knew that I had systemic inflammation, although I didn’t know why. I knew that I had a jacked up colon, and I knew part of the why, but not all of it. As it turns out, all these things were coming from something very new agey sounding called “candida yeast overgrowth.” We all have candida yeast; it’s the overgrowth that gets us. Now, a lot of people will immediately dismiss the possibility that they have candida yeast overgrowth because they don’t really use antibiotics much. I was one of those people … I would be given a prescription and always say, “I’ll fill it in a few days if I’m not better. I want to give my immune system a chance first, and on top of that, when the day comes that I really need antibiotics, I want them to work.” So I used very few antibiotics throughout my life. But did you know that candida yeast can be fed by things other than antibiotics? Refined carbs and sugar, alcohol, the pill, fermented foods like sauerkraut and pickles, and get this … stress can all feed candida. Not even kidding. I was a breeding ground for candida yeast to thrive and grow (and grow and grow and grow).

So I added ProBio 5 to my regimen to kill off the bad stuff and restore the good stuff in my intestine. At first, I thought it was going to be like the little scrubbing bubbles in the bathtub commercial, “We do the work … so you don’t have tooooo …” Only not quite. We do have to do a little work, like stop feeding the candida while the ProBio is trying to kill it. So when my progress came to a standstill, I started cleaning up my diet. I eliminated gluten. It was hard at first, being a bread lover and all, but considering that my pain is gone, as well as about 50 pounds, I can’t say that I miss it. And I strongly resisted the idea of even trying to go gluten-free because I didn’t think I could live without bread. The key is just to find other things you like even better, and believe me, they’re out there! I thought I was pretty worldly in my food choices. Not even close. There are so many things I’ve never even tried, so I consider it an adventure to discover all these cool sounding and cool looking foods. I’m like a foodie hipster now.

1557524_625959887469368_337168477_n

So back to why I love magnesium, and more specifically, BioCleanse. Just like the label says, it does these things:

* Helps oxygenate the entire body

* Helps detoxify and cleanse the gastrointestinal tract and arteries

* Energizes both physically and mentally

* Helps neutralize acidic conditions that may promote pathogens

* Enhances weight loss

* Supports collagen production

* Relieves constipation

But why do these things matter so much? For starters, because 80% of your immune system resides in your gastrointestinal system, so if you don’t have a healthy GI tract, you don’t have a healthy YOU.

clean-colon

There are lots of symptoms that can be attributed to a sick gut, and these are just the 10 most common:

* Skin and nail fungal infections (such as athlete’s foot or toenail fungus)

* Feeling tired and worn down or suffering from chronic fatigue or fibromyalgia

* Digestive issues such as bloating, constipation, or diarrhea

* Autoimmune disease such as Hashimoto’s thyroiditis, rheumatoid arthritis, ulcerative colitis, lupus, psoriasis, scleroderma, multiple sclerosis

* Difficulty concentrating, poor memory, lack of focus, ADD, ADHD, and brain fog

* Skin issues such as eczema, psoriasis, hives, and rashes

* Irritability, mood swings, anxiety, or depression

* Vaginal infections, urinary tract infections, rectal itching or vaginal itching

* Severe seasonal allergies or itchy ears

* Strong sugar and refined carbohydrate cravings

I had almost all of those symptoms, and I had the last one in spades. I couldn’t control those cravings for long. Until I started Plexus Slim … I’m getting to that.

We all know to turn to probiotics (ProBio 5) to clean up our digestive act, but why magnesium (BioCleanse)?

Magnesium is an essential mineral, and it has many benefits that are fairly apparent, such as relaxation, improved sleep, and relief from constipation. But a habitually low intake of magnesium can really increase the risk and incidence of illness over time. Do you feel like you just get sicker and sicker with every passing year? Don’t ignore that! That’s an important sign; it’s not just a normal part of aging (and it’s also pretty ridiculous to attribute such things to aging when you’re only in your 30s, 40s, or 50s). High blood pressure, cardiovascular disease, type 2 diabetes, osteoporosis, and migraine headaches can all be related to low magnesium intake.

Thanks to the lifestyle habits most Americans have picked up due to being under the lash of a busy schedule and just a general habit of reaching for what’s the most convenient (read: we eat too much fast food and other junk), many people are deficient in magnesium. And those with gastrointestinal disease, type 2 diabetes, alcohol dependence, as well as older people, have an even higher risk of magnesium deficiency because of the demands their bodies already face.

ProBio 5 and BioCleanse work together to provide a solid foundation for outstanding gastrointestinal health, but if you’re fanning the flames while they’re trying to put out the fire, they can only do so much. So here’s the key to success in getting your gut healthy: Plexus Slim every single day to help control sugar and carb cravings so you can eat clean (and not fan those flames), and ProBio and BioCleanse (to put out the fire). That’s it! You got this!

big three

Leave a Reply

